Labradors Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can you tell me if it is ok for yellow labs to be produced from 2 choc labs as i am no expert in this field. A choc lab had 4 pups, one sadly died. There are 2 yellow and 1 choc in the letter. The choc is absolutely adorable. I am asking because the muzzle under the nose and lips are a brown pinkish colour as well as under the eyes instead of black. Is this colour going to stay or will they turn black?

The grandparents are Brockwoods? which have also got Rocheby as the gg parents. The dame is lawnswood? from what we can remember?

Any help you can give asap would be appreciated as we have some pups to see in sheffield hopefully tomorrow, but we dont know if they are all sold as the owners are back from judging tomorrow so i am anxiously awaiting a call from them. Someone is going to see the pups we saw today on tuesday so we need to quick in response cos i know the ones we saw today will be scooped up quickly.

Mail me on [email protected] as i will get the post much quicker than on here.

Love Hazelx

·
Administrator
20,707 Posts
Yes it is possible with a certain choc gene for both chocs and yellows to appear in the litter. It is also possible for the poor pigmentation which you have seen. This is the reason why I would always say that choc to choc mating is not a good idea. It can go OK or not depending on the genetics of the dog and few breeders really know what they have.

Regatds, John

·
Registered
12,149 Posts
hiya

It could also be in my thinking ,characteristics skipping generations maybe that has something also to do with colour lol :?

·
Registered
5 Posts
hiya I am new to the breed and just getting to grips with the ins and outs. I always thought you should breed choc to choc I was told that yellow to choc produces a bleached down coat? Any one tell me the correct thinking to this?

·
Administrator
20,707 Posts