Labradors Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi can anyone please tell me the best age to let my male breed as im new to all this and have been asked by a few people but always end up looking stupid :oops: when i say im not sure there is alot of advice and information about breeding females but not alot for the males hope someone can educate me :p .

·
Premium Member
8,834 Posts
Has he been hip/elbow scored and eye tested?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Unless your dog is top quality and has something to offer the breed, the answer is never. If your dog an outstanding example of the breed, that has been hip/elbow scored and eye tested.....then around 2 years (give or take a few months).
Also do you realise that breeding a pair of dogs is not as easy as it looks and that you may even have to assist the dog to find the "target".

·
Registered
1,596 Posts
I have to agree with KJE you have to get your dog known either in the show ring or working circles, beside all the health checks. Then if he is outstanding and compliments someones bitch they will approach you. It is no good at all that a pet bitch round the corner comes to you, that is not the way to breed. I am not trying to offend you, but breeding has to be taken very seriously, otherwise more Labradors end up being rescued. Regards Meg

·
Premium Member
8,834 Posts
Meg, both you and KJE said exactly what I thought but was too chicken to say! Leave breeding to the experts is what I say, every time.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
breeding