Labradors Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6,682 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took Rusti away from our normal training area today to a large open park for a change of scene and whilst we were getting on with our training and minding our own business, some old guy with his lab came up to us and said that I shouldn't be training Rusti off-lead as he is far too young for that and heelwork should always be done on a lead for such a young dog, otherwise he certainly won't make a gundog. He then went on to tell me that Rusti is not "heeling" at my knee and suggested I wave a tree branch back and forth in front of his face and if he didn't stay behind my knee, give him a whack with it! 8O :evil:

Well I am totally brand new to this gundog stuff, but I KNOW Rusti and I know that he heels very well for a pup of his age and subsequently most of our training is off-lead. This man really upset me today and I certainly wouldn't use his methods! :twisted:

Am I wrong in training Rusti off-lead at 8 months and does it really matter in gundog work if your dog dosen't heel perfectly by your knee?

·
Registered
11,113 Posts
working off lead at 8 months sounds fine to me. the earlier he learns to, the better i think (so you don't get lead dependant like me :oops: ) anyways..... i think the old man was taking rubbish.

Ideally the dogs shoulder should be level with your knee - that way they have a view to the left and right to mark any dummies falling from the sky :D

·
Registered
5,534 Posts
Well, I'm new to it too, but I can't see anything wrong in having him walking at heel off lead sooner rather than later surely?