Labradors Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So when we got Arthur he was a chubby fella, wife kept asking why we got "the fat one"... it didn't take long for him to work off his puppy fat though (on his recommended daily meals of Chuddleys).

However, i'm wondering if he's a little on the lean side now? You can often see ribs when he's walking around and he definitely doesn't have a belly. He's 4 months, healthy in every way that we can see, tries to eat everything he can but AFAIK that's a lab thing...

Thoughts?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,748 Posts
I am no expert but if he were mine I would like to see a little bit more weight on him.

If you do increase the amount do it gradually or it will give him the runs.

I play around with the amounts my have quite frequently depending on how much exercise they have had and whether they look too slim or tubby!

Hope this helps.

Chloe

?

·
0 Posts
How is he bred; all Working Lines, all Show, a bit of both? This will have a huge impact on his shape and on how much weight he carries.

To be honest, I think he's about right, but then I like my dogs lean. Plus pups of that age tend to shoot up in fits and starts, you often see ribs one day, only to have them disappear the next as a growth spurt slows down. I wouldn't want him any leaner though, else if he gets an upset tum, he'll have nothing in reserve.

I do as Chloe does and play around with feeding amounts. I have never fed any of my dogs going by a feeding guide, as they are far too generalised. If mine have a hard few days, or if they just look a bit lean, then they get a bit more in their bowl....and if they have an easy few days or look a tad plump, they get a bit less. 8)

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
Both mine are lean types, but I think at his age I'd like a little more weight on him. If he does pick up a bug he'll have no reserves. Don't go mad though, he's lovely.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5