Labradors Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I am not good at this gundog training lark....not the proper stuff, obedience I am fine but really only just getting into shooting.

Diva, now 3.5yrs old has been gold good citizen trained but got very bored with classes so we decided to take her out with the gun. Only on our farm retrieving rabbit or pigeons.

The thing I need help with is not her finding them (although thats another problem we do have because she wont always listen to me, but does get there in the end!) its when she has found the rabbit picked it up and is heading back to me, she goes soooo slow.......plod plod plod. Now Diva is fast, she goes out fast and then hunts for it not madly but keenly, picks it up and plods.

Now when we do this at home or training with dummys, tennis balls etc she is fast....100 miles an hour fast. Gives it to me in my hand in front of me. But give her a dead whatever and its plod plod plod. When we train she gets lots of encoragement, if I crouch down and fling my arms open and call "Diva come" she does. But when we are in a field in the dark, with hubbie waiting to drive on and get the next rabbit I cant do this.... he would kill me for scaring them off!!! And ban me and Diva from going again....!!

How do I get her to come back to me with a bit of speed......?????

Thanks in advance :oops:

Trace x

·
Premium Member
8,702 Posts
That's interesting Trace! Not sure I can be a lot of help because its normally the other way round. Slow on the boring old dummies but mad keen on the real thing.

Could it be that she wants the rabbit for herself so is reluctant to deliver it to you?

You could try doing some retrieves with the rabbits the next day, so you can put in all your encouragement and see if that speeds her up at all.

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·