Labradors Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI

I am a newbie on to the LF. Have been browsing for the past couple of months and now decided to join. I have a beautiful 1 year old yellow lab called Tilly.

I was just wondering if anyone else feels like this or is it just me. I am really struggling to cope with Tilly, I have always grown up with dogs, and have got on fine with their obdience. However Tilly is really hyper and refuses to do anything I tell her. I have tried to take her to puppy training classes and she made such a noise with barking that I couldn't go back to follow up course. She is really good with her walking on the lead until another dog appears and then i am pulled off my feet.
Last night I had her out for her walk in the park and she took a maddy and was jumping up on me, biting me. I was just so embarressed as everyone was staring at me and this is not the first time i have left the park with scratch marks and teeth imprints. I got quite upset and was wondering if I should keep her or try to re home her (which i really don't to do)

Sorry for rambling on, any advice would be really helpful

·
Registered
3,695 Posts
Hi Kirsty

Sorry to hear you're having a rubbish time of it!

Let's go back to the basics first. What kind of food is Tilly eating? Many "supermarket" type foods contain huge amounts of colourings which is just like giving sweets to kids. How much exercise does she get? How long is she left alone for each day? Is she otherwise destructive at home, i.e. is she a chewer when left? How much training does she get each day (simple stuff like teaching basic commands)? Is this a recent problem or is it constant? Has she had her first season yet?

Sorry for all the questions (others may have cross posted while I'm typing this and asked similar things) but we may be better placed to help if we know a bit more about you and Tilly :)

·
Registered
2,659 Posts