Labradors Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anybody offer any advice on squeaking? Ihave a friend who has a very good young dog by saxaphone express 2 1/2 years to be exact, he is very well trained handles well, marks well and has impecable manners, he has been entered in scurries and done very well, more recently he has been entered in working tests but has been put out in the later stages for squeaking, this is something that has only recently developed, I have no experience of this so if anybody could offer any advice on the cause or the remedy, if there is one!! it would be much appriciated.

·
Registered
2,298 Posts
I am no expert, and I am sure many experts will be along with good advice, but I have seen people with young dogs when this problem starts. What they do is try not to have the dog sitting aroung getting "hyped" up and overexcited. Keep walking the dog away from the excitement. Keep the dog calm.

Obviously this is impossible in a test situation so perhaps put the tests on a back burner for a while and take a few steps back, to try and sort this out before it becomes a habit. Scurries too are very exciting and perhaps this hasn't helped push a keen dog over the top.

Just my thoughts! you'll get better advice soon I'm sure

Good luck!

Katy

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
;-) Sorry I didn't see this till I'd just started the other thread just now! Blush....

Di

·
Registered
10,913 Posts
I have a squeaky dog and its not the easiest thing to fix. Most will tell you its not fixable. I'm still working on it and have to admit its pretty hard - I've tried most everything that you will probably already have heard and nothing really has worked completely.

I have managed to reduce the volume and the frequency, but it does still pop up. I sometimes now get a throat click rather than a whine which is likely just as bad! :lol: :lol: