Labradors Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all....

I've read about the wonder of spinach & how it aides in maintaining their coats.... Does any one give their labbies spinach....

With me i do at times mix some blanched & blended spinach , rice and yoghurt :D ...he loves it so makes life easy...

S

·
0 Posts
I have been giving Corrie spinach every day in his meal for a few years now. I read about it in a Labrador Rescue newsletter about it helping with itchy skin which Corrie use to suffer from. It certainly seems to have helped Corrie.

Sam

·
Registered
7,736 Posts
Hi Sam,

Do you know if Spinach is basically for skin and coat or does it have other beneficial properties?

Vidhya, I can see with Black or chocolate Labs whose coats can shine, but as Frodo is also a Yellow what difference do you see in his coat?

·
Registered
364 Posts
I have read that spinach, being high in oxalic acid, can interfere with the absorbtion of calcium

For that reason I would limit the amount given but depends on how its being fed. If its in its original state then anything it contains is unlikely to get into the dogs system, good or bad

Only by feeding pulped or pureed veggies can a dog utilise the nutrients contained in them

Cheers
Nigel

·
Registered
7,736 Posts
Nigel,

So, which veggies are ok in moderation then ? And those not to be used? Do you know where I can look....

Got all the plants 'n' stuff and general toxins but some of 'our ' food still evades me a bit.

I know of the basics, like chocolate, dark, escpeciaslly, and have heard onions are bad too? Didn't find this out until Tills had polished of my spag bog though :(

·
Registered
364 Posts
Hi mommy