Labradors Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new to this,
Looking for some much needed advice! We got our Labrador when she was 10 weeks old she is now 23 weeks and we have many problems with her sleeping at night.

My partner is home all day and has encouraged her to sleep, we take her out on a morning for 1/2 hour, then at dinner i will go home and play with her, feed her and if the weather is not to hot take her out again for 20 minutes. We take her out on an evening around 8pm for another 1/2 hour walk, she is fed around 9pm and she sleeps after her tea, we make her go outside just before bedtime.

During the night she wakes up and starts whining and if no one comes she barks, we live in a built up area and i find it really hard to leave her barking as we don't want people making complaints (which they are sure to do) she wakes about 1am, then a few more times between 2am and 5am. I once left her barking and she soiled in her cage so she was obviously desperate. I wait for her to stop barking and enter the room and make her go outside, giving her no attention at all so its not as if she is gaining anything from doing this. As the weeks pass she is getting worse. The only reason we cage her at night is because when we first got her she chewed through a few wires and made a terrible mess of the carpet.

Any advice would be appreciated as i am at my wits end and very very tired!

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
Hello.
I’m also new to the Forum but thought i might be of some help to you.
We got our rescue dog Diesel about a year ago. The first few nights were horrible; he was barking all night long and wouldn’t stop.