Labradors Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I apologise....but I am new to this!

I have a few questions to ask about my 13week old puppy - Ben.

He is a really chilled dog and I love him to bits. Never had a dog so everything is new to me!

1) I have caught my dog eating his poo this morning - surely that is not normal??? How can I stop it??

2) The past few days, my dog has slathered loads when sleeping. This includes his sleep during the day. Is this normal?

3) How can I stop him chewing EVERYTHING!!? wires are his favourite - they have all been removed out of sight now. But he goes in the garden, comes in with plant pots, flowers, wood etc. He chews the back door and just discovered he has chewed off the leg to the cupboard!

Thanks for your help!!

?

·
0 Posts
Hiya. Don't apologise, we were all new at some point and we all ask loads of questions. That's how you find out the answers :wink: .

Firstly...Poo eating. Unfortunately perfectly normal, although understandably undesirable. If it is his own poo you can add things to his food, such as Pineapple or courgette and this will make his poo taste nasty. If it is other animals poo, then it's a bit more tricky, as you will have to teach him the LEAVE command and make sure his reward for leaving it, is of higher value than the poo. Best thing to do if he is eating his own, is to lead him away as soon as he has done it, take him indoors where he can't see you, then clear it up immediately. If he sees you diving for it, he may think you want it for yourself and this will make him want it all the more. :wink:

Secondly...I'm not sure what slathering is :oops: . Do you mean drooling? If so it could be that he has a bit of a sore mouth. Check his gums, tongue and round his teeth to make sure he hasn't got anything caught (like a splinter).