Labradors Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

My male lab puppy which we call 'fero' who is 52 days or 7 weeks old weighs only 7.5 pounds and looks small, what should be his correct weight and height , of my chocolate lab, is he too small , and also his coat seems very dry with little bit of dandruff, help me i am worried,

Girish

·
Registered
53 Posts
Vets

Hi,

I have 11 week old lab but got him at 7 weeks old. He was then 11 lbs ( and a bit chunky too!!) Not sure what ideal weight should be.

I'm a novice here too, but I would suggest you took him to your local vet for a full check up (my breeder recommended this also). We took him 2 days after we got him.

This forum is great for advice and hopefully someone will help further.

Hope he's ok

Kathy

·
Registered
8,784 Posts
Hi,

I think the size and weight depends on the dog! All dogs are different, A good guide is to look at you pup standing up to see if he has a waist line and also you should be able to feel the pups ribs as you run your hands gently along his side (feel not see them). But you should not have to push to hard to feel them, if you do then they are probably a bit fat. Puppies are alway difficult as some days they look fat and others they look thin. But if you are unsure then as Kathy said take him along to your vets and they should be able to advise you. You want a pup on the leaner side (not thin) as labs have a fast growth rate and a dog that is overweight is more likely to develope health issues. HTH

Cristina

·
Registered
8,784 Posts
Hi,