Labradors Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m hoping someone could give me advice about Labrador health checks? I’m looking at a litter on champdogs, both dam and sire have good hip/elbow scores and clear eye but results are from 2018. Also dam not tested for eic/cnm/hnpk, not sure whether this matters if sire is unaffected? We would not be breeding our dog. Anyone any experience here?

Also, i was expecting to have to go on a waiting list for a puppy, should I be wary that all these puppies are available? I’m new to this so any help would be very much appreciated!

·
Premium Member
1,437 Posts
I’m hoping someone could give me advice about Labrador health checks? I’m looking at a litter on champdogs, both dam and sire have good hip/elbow scores and clear eye but results are from 2018. Also dam not tested for eic/cnm/hnpk, not sure whether this matters if sire is unaffected? We would not be breeding our dog. Anyone any experience here?

Also, i was expecting to have to go on a waiting list for a puppy, should I be wary that all these puppies are available? I’m new to this so any help would be very much appreciated!
Hi Kalci, both parents should have a current clear BVA eye certificate, so within the last 12 months, and as long as at least one is clear for the genetic conditions, then pups cannot be affected. I would add to your list PRA and SD2, although this can depend on the lines your prospective puppy is from, it's worth looking for a litter where these tests are in place. I would make sure you are 100% happy with the health tests before making any contact, as once people see cute puppies, they more often than not cannot say no, even if they know that things could have been done a bit better.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you that’s v helpful and I take your point completely about not viewing pups lightly!

·
Premium Member
1,437 Posts