Labradors Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!!

I am new to Labs andhave just become the mother of a gorgeous Golden lab - a girl called Poppy who is 8 weeks old.
I also have a toddler, almost 2.
Please can anyone give any advice on how to raise a safe and happy family with our new lab?
She is gorgeous and very calm. She was the runt of the litter. She is currently nipping which is to be expected and my son can be a little rough. They are both learning and I amteaching them to respect each other.
In the back of my mind I am a little worried as animals can be unpredictable.
are labs generally kind to children?
I am taking poppy to traning classes shortly. She is booked in.
any advice is so so so appreciated as this is all new!! I hope I have done the right thing by getting poppy when i already have a toddler and wantmore kids.

jen x

·
Registered
30 Posts
Labs are generally docile.
We've had five over the years.
We also have a son.
When he was toddling around we NEVER, EVER left them together without supervision.
It paid off because he banged into the Lab we had at the time and it snarled at him.
The dog had to go.
Better safe than sorry !!
Fortunately he went (for free) to a friend who had much older children and he became a fine, and happy family pet.

?

·
0 Posts
In the back of my mind I am a little worried as animals can be unpredictable.
are labs generally kind to children?
Labs are generally quite tolerant, but on the whole aren't that much different to many other medium/large breed dogs towards children. So don't just think because you've got a Lab, it'll automatically be better with children than other breeds. I had a Collie cross and a large Lurcher who were much better with children than any of my Labs have been.