Labradors Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,922 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are your labs Protective

Penny is over Protective with me and when out does not let any dogs near me.

Last night Sophie was attacked (again!) by a dog a terrier x breed and when I managed to get it off her Penny went into guard mode and attacked it herself. We had a bit of a bun fight going on.

I don't know if she was Protecting me, Sophie or both of us but she is so, so over Protective.

Does anyone else have this, or do I have an odd one :)

It's very sweet but sometimes I wish she would chill out a little!

·
Registered
492 Posts
No I haven't noticed this with Bailey. The only slight thing I've noticed is if I hug my boyfriend, he will come over and jump up at us, as if he doesn't want to be left out.

I'm no expert but could it be because she thinks he's pack leader and she's protecting the pack? Or would it be the other way round and they protect the pack leader?

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
Oh i wish Diesel was a little more like your dogs.
I was mugged last year whilst walking him and he didn't even come over to see if i was alright despite me calling him :evil: 8O

He's also watched 3 lads break into my old car and drive off in it without making a sound 8O
Maybe he just dosent like me :(

·
Registered
234 Posts
Abby can be a little bit sometimes. If I am out walking with my friend she will sometimes bark at lone men coming towards us. If OH is with me she doesn't!

·
Premium Member
4,592 Posts
Mine are wary of strange people, especially Harry. His hackles will rise and a 'woof' lets me know there is someone they have not met before. It's certainly not something I encourage but the early warning comes in handy. Some folk, especially tourists from the local caravan site don't like dogs. :roll:
If the strangers have Labradors there is usually no problem but if they are tourist 'fluffballs on string' then I call mine back and put them on their leads.