Labradors Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Labrador Forums and to keeping a Lab. Our male Lab is just 6 months old and, since lockdown began, my family has got used to walking him twice a day, morning and afternoon (dutifully divided between family members!). Each walk has been between 30 mins to 1 hour. He was running quite a bit on the walks too, chasing a ball etc. We realised this was too much - probably way too much - after he started limping a little and seemed over tired and we poked around online for some info. We now feel really bad about over exercising him and have cut down to just one 30 minute walk in the morning and then letting him be in the garden too (and making sure he goes out for his business whenever he needs to, of course). He only started the limping under a week ago so we're watching to see if there's an improvement before taking him to the vet. He doesn't appear to be in any pain connected to the limping. I've carefully checked his paws for foreign objects and found nothing there. We've done our utmost to look after him well and thought he was okay with the exercise he was having. But now we're afraid long-term damage may have been caused to his bones. Can anyone give some advice? Will he be okay now that we've adjusted his exercise routine? Thank you.

·
Administrator
20,483 Posts
Really all you can do now is rest and hope the limp goes away. Failing that it will be ex-rays to see what the problem is.