Labradors Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I currently have no Labs, as my old one died earlier this year. I am looking for a new puppy, with a view to maybe showing. Has anyone got any tips what to look for?

Patricia

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
Hi Patricia
Welcome to the forum and sorry to hear about your loss earlier in the year. What sort of dog/s did you have before?
Have to say I’m not an expert on show dogs I’ve always had dogs from working lines, and there is a big difference. However, the first place I would start would be at the shows themselves. Where are you in the UK? Go and look at the dogs currently being shown - it will give you an idea of types being produced by the different kennels. Introduce yourself to the breeders. Most are happy to help those who share their love and enthusiasm for the breed. Once you have found a type you like, approach breeders about future litters and explain you are looking for a show quality puppy. Expect to be put on a waiting list and have a wait. There are no guarantees, even a long line of show champions in the pedigree is no guarantee of a litter containing show potential pups (although you are helping the odds) and even with a show potential pup, there is the possibility they may develop faults as they grow up. Either way you will have a super puppy to share you life with regardless of whether or not you show.
Kayc on the board shows her dogs, so hopefully she'll see this and give you some pointers.
HTH
Forgot to mention the most obvious - your dog must be a kennel club registered dog to show in all shows except exemption shows, so don't get an unregistered puppy, or any other kind of dog registration (there are several commercial registration clubs now that mean nothing and are just a bit of paper).

·
Registered
2,932 Posts