Labradors Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All, We are new to the site and I would really appreciate a little advice. My gorgeous black lab Dylan is now 5 months old and on Thursday I found a big hard lump on the back of his neck, so I took him straight to the vets on Thursay evening and they had him booked straight in for Friday morning to have it removed. It came as a great shock as the lump literally appeared over night. But the vet made one comment and it was that labs were prone to lumps!!! Did she mean fatty lumps??? Can anybody tell what these lumps are that they are supposed to be prone to? Any advice would be most welcome.

Kerry and Dylan

·
Registered
1,596 Posts
Hi
I have owned Labs for many years and in my experience I do not think they are any more prone to lumps than any other breed.
I have occassionally had a dog with a lump in the neck, but that was due to the Vet giving him an injection, and that was what we call a haematoma,which is a collection of blood forming a lump and sometimes causes an abscess.

Please let us know what the cause of this was and whether the vet sent it for histology all the best Meg

·
Registered
8,784 Posts
Hi kerry,

My dog has no lumps, but my mum is looking after one and it has loads all over the place! On its tummy, legs and back they don't seem to bother her. No idea what they are or what causes them (sorry i'm not much help). A lot of the lab i've come across do have lumps. Let me know how you get on at the vets. My mum has been worried about the dog she is looking after as one lump seems to be getting bigger! :?

cristina (& ben)

·
Registered
22,083 Posts