Labradors Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like your views on this one please.

Diesel is 4 (5 in Jan). As many of you know it took him a very long time to settle in. I now feel he is relaxed enough to start some agility. Im not thinking about going into competitions, i was thinking for fun.

Do you think hes too old for this?
Have any of you had experiences with agility and an older dog?
Is there anything i should be looking out for?
Any do or don'ts?
Im new to agility.
As far as i know hes had no formal training prior to being homed with us. Although he knows sit, paw, lie down, stay and recall is 98% effective :lol: :roll:

?

·
0 Posts
As long as he doesn't have any joint problems then I see no reason why you couldn't start training him now. After all 4 years old is still a spring chicken really :wink: .

Some of the dogs in our team are much older than him and they still cope very well, even if they are not as fast as they used to be.

Give it a go, I bet he'll love it. :D

·
Registered
2,710 Posts
If introduced gradually so that he is able to adapt and build the muscles required I dont think that there should be a problem and it is more than likely that both of you are going to have a super time .

Have a go and enjoy it 8)

·
Registered
4,683 Posts
My OH's dog is 11 years old and still enjoys coming to agility some weeks with us! He only started a few years ago when he was about 9, possibly even 10! :)

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you everyone :p
Looks like were off to Agility then! :D
He has no hip problems that im aware of, nothing that stops him from jumping on the sofa or bed anyway :roll:

·
Premium Member
15,605 Posts
Charlie is 5 next January too, and we're in a display team doing agilty :)

So, as the others say, take it gradually and give it a go!

·
Registered
2,988 Posts