Labradors Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly, let me apologies for this post, I can agree that I'm not in the right mindset at the moment but I just feel like I need to get it out and hope those who have been through puppy-hood can advise and support.

I work as a sports therapist and I book in clients to suit my schedule doing hours here and there a day; so over the last fortnight I worked extra more to gain and take 2 weeks off. Day 1 off - I collected Sonny on Saturday, he was 8weeks on Monday and today is Wednesday Day 5 at home. It's not even been a week yet I'm honestly struggling and pulling my hair out.

As my first ever puppy, I was SO excited about getting him, I read and read and I really did think I was prepared but now only 4 nights in; shamefully I'm actually starting to think twice and question the full-time commitment I let myself in for. I'm actually feeling quite emotional; which is quite embarrassing to say, even though I'm not an emotional person.

I do realise that although his size he is only a baby and I know that the more effort I put in the better and I'm sure it all come together eventually but really I think I'm trying far to hard and don't know how much longer I can do this. When I see other threads with people saying 19weeks and 6months still pooping during the night etc etc.. that really worry me.

I'm back to work in a week in a half and with my time off right now perhaps I'm making a mistake having the puppy with me all the time as I won't always be there.

NIGHT-TIME