Labradors Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am really enjoying giving one meal a day raw to the kids here. They are loving it too! As a complete novice to this I thought I would enlist a bit of help with portion sizes. I know each dog is different but very generally...

Ok I am using either chicken wings or thigh and drumsticks.

Tom at 5 and a half months is getting 3 wings or one thigh and one drumstick.

Bondy at 4 and a half months is getting two wings or one thigh

Brogan at 10 weeks is getting one wing or one drumstick.

Is this about what you would feed? Obviously Brgan has 3 further meals of complete a day, Bondy and Tom 2 more.... in addition. But Bondy always hoovers his in one gulp and Tom takes quite a while.... would you say the above is enough?

Thanks
Di

·
Registered
8,453 Posts
Just for you to compare, mine get six wing tips for a meal, the last two joints of the chicken wing.

I have never weighed raw food, just gone on an average amount per day, if they look leaner give them a bit more, if they look like they're putting a bit on, they get less.

One thing you might find interesting to compare is teething, mine never had problems really, Tau had one canine that refused to budge for ages, but they both started teething quite quickly and it seemed to be quite a short process. But obviously I've got no experience of pups on commercial dog food to compare against.

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did you feed them raw as puppies, Jo? How many tips would you give per meal when kidlets? rather than as adults?