Labradors Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I would love to start showing and I was wondering if any of you old pro's out there could give some information and advice to a complete novice. Before collecting our dog Lucca, we visited a couple of local breed shows really just to find out a little more about the breed and I loved what I saw! Lucca is now 8 weeks old and although I appreciate that he is far to young to start showing at the moment, want to find out as much information as I can so that if we (lucca obviously has to enjoy it too!!) decide to get involved that we can be as prepared as possible. He is booked into puppy classes which start on 6th July (2 weeks after his final innoculations) when should he start ringcraft classes and does anyone know of any good ones in the Cambridge area? Are there any good books on showing that I can read? At what age do they usually start and how do I find out about forthcoming shows? He is from show lines on both sire and dam sides although I believe his mother has never been shown his father is. The breeder is not local to me.

Sarah

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
Hi Sarah
First of all your puppy must be registered with the KC. Ask your newsagent to order you a copy of either 'Our Dogs' or 'Dog World', these two publications are weekly and are a must for show goers, and contain a weekly list of forthcoming Champ, Open, Limit and companion shows, and give details on how to obtain schedules to enter them

Your puppy cannot be shown until he's six calendar months old, so you'll have loads of time to do some ring training. You could also try one or two companions shows as well as ringcraft to get him used to things, Although breed classes are still limited to 6months old and upwards, you can enter the novelty classes.