Labradors Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi..... I'm new to the field of looking for a puppy and only just started doing my research. I've been told that the testing of hip, elbow and eye is not being done or running late due to a covid backlog...... is this the case or am I being fobbed off?
Thanks 馃惥

Administrator
Yes, all three are being done. I for example am organising my next session in October and there are many more being organised by other people. Hips and elbows can be exrayed and submitted by any vet, ok, the BVA are a bit slower than usual evaluating the plated, but the waiting time is only about 6 weeks. DNA testing is completely unaffected. So really, there is no excuse. If a person is going to breed a litter, possibly around 6 pups and charge probably up to 拢2500 each, thats 拢15000, and for that I would expect them take a little trouble to do it right. Please dont be fooled They could, and should have been health tested.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. It just goes to show how easily people (I) can be taken in. Like you say these puppies are costing so much so no excuse for not getting the proper health checks.

Premium Member
There are no health tests that aren't being done, but there are a lot of bad breeders using it as an excuse I'm afraid. I had my bitch in for a BVA eye cert in October last year, and I've had to wait three months now lockdown has been lifted but she goes for hips and elbows next week. And even if you cannot get your bitch to be tested you have to query why you should still then be breeding and not waiting for health testing appointments.

Administrator
As to the eye testing sessions I co-organise, we test twice a year and since the start of covid we have only missed one session.

Premium Member
This is so hard not to let my heart rule my head!