Labradors Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

My husband and I have been hunting for a Labrador pup for a few months now (we live on the Wirral).

We initially found a wonderful small breeder who hadn’t put her prices up in the name of Covid, but sadly the bitch was only pregnant with one pup which the breeder was going to keep - £1500.

We then found another small breeder who promised us a pup, and then I received an email yesterday saying he had promised too many and we don’t have one (fuming, and devastated) - £1500

My husband and I had already arranged 7 weeks of annual leave between us with the pup so we are fairly tied to pups born around now to be ready around mid-late June. We have found a litter (a breeder who a friend of my mother’s has used and seems legit), who would be ready around the time needed. However, they are asking for £2400 (increase of £500 since last year) and a £500 deposit before we have even met the puppy.

Two of the red flags we had wanted to avoid!!

Any advice? Are deposits before seeing the puppy a huge no? I get that they don’t want time wasters, but it seems a lot of money before we have even set eyes on the pup.

It’s SUCH a minefield at the moment!

Thanks in advance.

·
Administrator
21,294 Posts
To me it's not a huge no no, though it would raise alarm bells.