Labradors Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Think Harry might need his claws clipping? He's been giving them a bit of a bite. How do I tell if he does need them doing? They don't seem that long to me. He gets a mixture of runs in the park and street walks. Any tips on how to do it too?

Gwinni

·
Registered
248 Posts
I'm by no means an expert, but I watched Lola's breeder cut her claws just before I brought her home and she just took the tips off with nail clippers (doggy ones, but she said regular ones would be fine). So long as it's just the tips that you take off, the dog doesn't feel anything. I used to clip my bunny's nails regularly with nail clippers and the same principle applied. Good luck!

G

·
If you stand him on the pavement and you can slide a credit card between his nails and the pavement, then they are about the right length, if his nails touch the ground then you need to take some off. That's how I tell anyway. :wink:

I always clip mine back so they are at a right angle to the floor (if the dog is standing), so then even if you only take the tips off, as the dog walks, it wears them back to the right length quicker.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
When muddy, I wipe them over with a damp cloth , to tell between the dull and the shiney part to take the points off.

·
Registered
5,534 Posts
Oooh I'm feeling all inspired... off to have another go with the nail clippers... snip snip (failed miserably last time I tried)

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Definitely one for the husband I think! I've still not recovered from making first born son's thumb bleed when I cut his nails for the first time, and that was 11 years ago!

·
Registered
45,877 Posts
CJ does his own "pedicure" he regularly cleans his nails especially if he`s had a particularly muddy walk, could be that Harry is doing the same thing.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·