Labradors Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Does anyone feed Chappie (tinned)? My dog trainer says she swears by it, and that it's basically the same as Hills but a lot cheaper! After being neutered yesterday Truffle has been given a few tins of Hills to eat and he's loving it and I fear he might turn his nose up at dry kibble now (aarrgh) so was wondering if anyone has any experience with Chappie (good or bad).

Would it be possible to mix some with his kibble and keep him on a half and half, or would this upset the balance of the kibble?

As I have no experience of feeding tinned meat any advice would be very welcome. Does it need biscuity things as well, or do you just feed the meat on it's own?

Many thanks

Cat and Truffle

·
Registered
10,127 Posts
I always keep tins of Chappie on stand-by for if any of my dogs get upset tums. It works a treat - I sometimes mix it with boiled rice if their stomachs are particularly bad.

It's a very bland food. However, I doubt if you'll have any trouble returning to your normal kibble. I personally don't mix the 2 on a regular basis as I think that dried food is a 'complete' food, and so mucking about with it in any way is likely to upset the balance.

Becs

?

·
0 Posts
I've fed Chappie from time to time.

I don't really hold with this "Complete" food thing and mine have had it with either kibble or mixer biscuits. I know lots of people feed it on it's own too and their dogs thrive on it.

It is a brilliant food for sensitive tummed dogs (as long as they are not allergic to fish obviously) and I know many vets used to recommend it.

I wouldn't like to say it was the same as Hill's because I think it is probably a far simpler food, however I would not hesitate to use it again if I needed to.

A

·
0 Posts
I'm the same as Becs and always keep a couple of tins in the cupboard.