Labradors Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

When we got Woody at the start of the month, he was 5 months old, on a diet of dry puppy food from Pets at Home. He seemed good on that. However, we changed it to Pedigree's dry puppy food as it was proving difficult to get to a Pets at Home store.

I don't want to put anyone off their dinner, but his number two's have turned pale and very sloppy, sometimes actual diarrhoea. I am a bit confused and concerned for the dramatic change.

He has been on Pedigree for 2 weeks now, and if it was due to a change in food, surely he should have got used to it now??? Any advice?

I take Woody to my parents each day, as they live on a farm, maybe he's getting some extra stuff there, hmmmm?

Thanks everyone

·
Registered
1,476 Posts
Hi Martin

I am by no means an expert on dog food - however having had a lab who for the whole time we have had him has had an upset tummy I feel I can say something on the matter!!

Ok, when we 1st got Charlie he was on Pedigree puppy food, but our like Woody always had runny stools - it was described by our training school that feeding pedigree to dogs is like us eating mcDonalds every day - very un-healthly and full of rubbish that once in has to come out. :(

So, for the 1st few months that we had Charlie he was on Hills Science Plan for large breed dogs - this suited him until he was 7 months old then the tummy troubles started again so we began feeding him Chappie which he thrived on - but recently we have changed our dogs onto Burns food which is a natural food and I have to say they are both looking brilliant on it, nice glossy coats, clear eyes and much more energy ! 8O

Maybe its worth thinking about feeing something more healthy, like Burns and seeing if that helps?

Hope that helps a little?

Sarah

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Hi Martin