Labradors Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how can i tell when my bitch is pregnant. she was bred 4 weeks ago. i am new to this.she has been hip scored and eye tested and bred with another lab who also has low scores. we are hoping for a litter and have brought books and have researched on the event to prepare for any eventuality. help please. foxtrot.

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
Hi Foxtrot,

If your bitch is only 4 weeks from being mated, there will possibly be a few signs. Is she more clingy? Have her back nipples enlarged or darkened at all? The other sign is if the vulva hasn't gone back to its pre-season size.

If you wish to scan her the best time to do so is about 35 days, but these days I personally prefer to 'wait and see'. It is usually obvious by about 7 weeks.

Fingers crossed for you!

·
Registered
6,993 Posts
Hi Foxtrot

Some bitches hide their pregnancy, others change more quickly mines tend to be more clingy.
I have been lucky with my vet who if i take my bitch to see her on the 28th day after mating she can usually tell me with knowing exactly where to feel she can tell me,i have tried but as yet i can't feel anything. Only time will tell or as previously said you could have her scanned.

Good luck

Margaret

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
dear xena and thrupence - i realy appreciate your replies and good luck messages am tempted to have a scan. as i would like to know firstly how many there will be and if she is realy pregnant. mind you the stud had two attempts one day and one two days later. foxtrot.

·
Registered
6,993 Posts
Hi Foxtrot

The scan is not always able to tell the exact numbers, i was told my bitch only had 5pups and she produced 11 so although they are good to confirm pregnancy IMO not very good at how many.

Good luck and let us know how everything is going.

margaret

·
Registered
1,596 Posts