Labradors Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bracken came into season much to our delight (last season Feb 09 but one before that Jan 08!! :? ), and is off to the stud dog on Sunday.

After mating, is there anything special I should/should not be doing (feeding, exercising etc) in the run up to finding out if there are pups on the way or not?

Also, what are people's opinions on scans - necessary or not? A friend who breeds springers scanned for a first litter, but apart from confirming the pregnancy she didn't learn more (told there would be 3 or 4 pups, and there were 7!) so she doesn't bother now. If I decide against a scan when/how often should I take her to the vet and will they be able to confirm the pregnancy without a scan?

I am new to this so want to do everything just right, so advice welcome. Any good books you can recommend?

All very excited here..... :D :D :D

·
Registered
10,508 Posts
No advice Helen, but just good luck for Sunday. I hope Bracken and Monty are able to do the business, and you manage to get puppies. :D

I think it is probably Di (Diana) who you need to speak to for proper advice.

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Hi helena,

I'm sure Montys owners will advise you and I hope your matings went well. Briefly as its all 'old news' now for you, I do nothing after mating except have the bitch go back in the car after a wee if she needs one. i don't hold myself with the strict rules some have about tipping them upside down or not weeing etc etc. But each to their own of course.

I feed the bitch as soon as we get home at the next normal mealtime. Then she is fed entirely normally until about two and a half weeks before delivery. Nothing changes except I do feed Folic Acid from about a month before the season starts when I am going to mate her then right through to a week or so before delivery.