Labradors Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to get Bliss off Eukanuba because I don't like feeding BHA and BHT additives. Although I have to say she's looks good on it :? . Anyway after a lot of research I decided on Arden Grange but it didn't suit her digestion unfortunately. My second choice was Skinners so I contacted the company for suggestions and they recommended Field & Trial Duck & Rice.

I've never used duck based food before only chicken. Does this matter?

Also is it ok to feed this sort of food to a non-working dog? She used to be obese before being left in rescue so I watch her weight, although she's a lovely shape now. Skinners said to start her on 100g per 10kg bodyweight because of this.

Any thoughts appreciated.

·
Registered
29,722 Posts
Skinners is a good food and can be fed to any dog - even those that don't work. Working dog food is usually VAT free (I think) hence the differential and the company saying its for working dogs.

Skinners know their food better than anyone I would imagine so why not try what they have suggested - duck instead of chicken shouldn't make any difference. In relation to the amount being fed - just keep an eye on her, if she starts to look fatter then cut down, and vice versa. I tend to feed by eye to be honest and only ever measure out the puppy food.

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Excellent, have been seriously considering a change to Skinners myself so certainly think I've heard nothing but good about it.
Di

·
Registered
3,695 Posts