Labradors Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have a decision to make about our 4 year old lab. After being involved in a car accident he broke his front leg badly. Now that it has not healed we are thinking of going down the line of amputation. It is a front left leg.

My question is what kind of quality of life can a lab have with a front leg gone. Do any of you have any experience of this and if so how did your dogs get on.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
13,082 Posts
No experience but just wanted to say sorry to hear about your lab's accident, it must've been very frightening for you all.

Hopefully someone will be able to answer your questions about amputation.

·
Premium Member
15,716 Posts
oh goodness poor lad.
Luckily i have no experience of amputation but I have seen dogs manage perfectly well on 3 legs. There was new member a few weeks ago who has a lab with 3 legs .
I'll have a look and see if i can find the thread for you

oh and welcome to LF

·
Registered
45,877 Posts
I`m sorry to hear Elliots leg hasn`t healed well, never come across a laqb with 3 legs but have seen other breeds and they do very well, the dog doesn`t look at it the same way we would if we lost a limb, once he`s got used to readjusting his balance he should be fine I`d think :)

·
Registered
3,695 Posts
If he's struggling with the damaged limb and it's causing him pain and/or a reduced quality of life and your vet believes amputation is the best option, then I'd say go for it. Dogs do adapt amazingly well to life on three legs :)

·
Registered
303 Posts
Not sure about how labs cope with 3 legs...is he a heavy set lab?