Labradors Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
760 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello....Just wondered if anyone could help me....my golden lab " alfie" is 7 months old...today he's at the vets getting his hips x-rayed...limps occassionally when he's been asleep or for a walk...(another story) we'll at the moment we are feeding him bakers complete puppy....before when we collected him from the breeder he was on iams puppy/juniorlarge....but after a while he stopped eating and seemed bored with the chicken flavour,anyhow bakers seemed to make him hypo...so we changed back to iams (much to alfies disgust) and now when he could possible have a problem (maybe i am jumping the gun here) what food would you suggest....also at what age can i give him adult mix....a total novice here, but best afternoons work finding this site...its excellant and when i posted before people were very helpful and reasuring...thanks barnsie.

·
Registered
880 Posts
bakers is quite unhealthy i think it has a lot of colourants and things, which although means they eat it with gusto it isnt paticularly good for them hence the hyperness, if your going to change food you could probably change to adult food too now. Other users of the forum have tried Autarky or Burns or probably the most well known is James Wellbeloved.
I'm sure you'll be able to find something to suit alfie.
Anna

·
Administrator
20,783 Posts
I agree with Anna, I would change to adult now. I like to get mine onto adult by 6 months old which is around here you are at now. Anny of the foods Anna is talking about are good. I would decide on one and mix a little with the Iams, gradually increasing the new and cutting back on the old so the change is phased in over a couple of weeks.

Regards, John

·
Registered
760 Posts
Discussion Starter #4