Labradors Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello this is my first time posting on here and I hope you can help,

I got my black lab puppy Duncan in March when he was nine weeks old. In our family we have always had dogs, including a black lab when I was approx 13 with no problems.

In the last week, I have started having runny nose and feeling chesty like I have a cold. I am approx 8 weeks pregnant too, so at first thought I was just run down, however on Monday a horrible thought occured to me that I could have developed an allergy to Duncan, he is now nearly seven months old and there is no way I could bear to part with him, he is part of the family.
My Doctor said I dont have a cold and I seem to have an allergy, as to whether it is Duncan or not she couldnt say. I sobbed last night and my husband has said we will get through this and even if I have an allergy to him will keep him, he thinks the doctor should have tested me

I have the symptoms even when I am in work and not with Duncan so I wonder if it is a pet allergy or maybe Doctor has got it wrong.

Does anybody have any advice or thoughts they could offer? Being pregnant I am emotional anyway, but I just couldnt get rid of Duncan and am really worried

G

·
First of all welcome to LF and congratulations on your pregnancy! :)

I don't have any problems myself with allergies to pets but a few of my friends have allergies to pet dander and none have had to resort to rehoming their dog or cat. Obviously you have to be careful with your choice of antihistamines while pregnant but before considering that you will have to make sure that your GP tests you for allergies.

Since you've grown up with dogs - labs even - it's unlikely I think that you will have suddenly developed an allergy to Duncan, but as I'm not a doctor I couldn't say that with every confidence.