Labradors Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am willing to plead a lot of ignorance in 'khaki' related areas so please be gentle with me.

I'm walking Luna well out of the way of other doggies at the moment and I have a vast number of fields out the back of the house that are thankfully offering their services. I met a local chap last weekend (I'm new to area and owning a dog in rural area!) and was asking about walks and the farmer who owns the land. He informed me that farmer has no problems with dog walkers on his land, there are lots of footpaths crisscrossing. His only problem is if the birds are disturbed in the beating areas. So on leashed walks this week have identified beating areas (Luna hasn't been interested in outing the birds! Hasn't experienced that pleasure!) and because the shooting is due to begin soon have gone in opposite direction this weekend just in case.

My questions:
Will it be obvious that shooting/beating will be taking place to me who is near the areas daily? Cars? Barking etc?

Are areas marked out at all? I have noticed some smallish kite like material, weighted down things appearing recently in various areas. Are these showing that areas are being prepared?

What time does beating/shooting generally start in the day? And is it always weekends? I'm walking Luna as early as poss at the moment as she could be in season and so far have managed to avoid other dogs; however, I don't want to cause chaos walking an in-season dog around a working dog area a day prior to them working. (This is why I had her spayed in the first place - grrrrr!)

I haven't been able to find anyone locally who can help me answer questions so I thought I'd tap into the expertise on here! I'm hoping I could be close enough in the house to notice beating/shooting activity when it starts as would love to watch proper dogs in action if they'll let me! It is what Luna was bred to do so.... !!!!