Labradors Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! Newbie here. I have an 8 month old fox lab who has always been a bit on the wild side. I’ve done a huge amount of training with her and on the whole she’s making good progress. There are a couple of sticking points tho, one is other dogs coming to the house. I have lots of friends who like to visit with their dog but at the moment it’s a really stressful experience as my big pup gives the visiting dog no peace. All listening stops, she jumps on them, hurts them, plays far too roughly and does not listen to their corrections. I intervene stop her, put her on the lead etc but she sits and whines, pulls and is basically a total nuisance trying to get to the other dog.
I will often end up isolating her in another room. My mum is possibly coming to live with me and her 9 year old more grumpy dog. How do I get her to calm down around other dogs?

Just to clarify I can get her to walk past other dogs, she has great recall etc. Its mainly in the house and is especially bad with a couple of my friends dogs who she simply loves (they tolerate her!)

I don’t want her hurting another dog (or human) or getting aggressively bitten because she doesn’t know when to calm down. Help!

·
Administrator
22,241 Posts